It's MY Space
Nominet has ordered that the domain name myspace.co.uk be transferred to MySpace (the social networking site) under the Dispute Resolution Service Procedure. This is in spite of the fact that the original registrant, Total Web Solutions, registered the domain name some six years before the creation of the social networking site! The myspace.co.uk address led to a parked page containing adverts for social networking sites and the Nominet expert held that the income received by Total Web Solutions through its use of the domain name derived "in part as a consequence of it being able to trade off the reputation of the Complainant."
Total Web Solutions relied on the case concerning the name verbatim.co.uk and tried to argue that it had not been aware of the complainant at the time of registration or at the time that it first used the domain name and therefore that the registration could not be abusive. However, the Dispute Resolution Policy ("DRP") states that an Abusive Registration occurs where a domain name, either "at the time when the registration or acquisition took place, took unfair advantage of or was unfairly detrimental to the Complainant's Rights; or has been used in a manner which took unfair advantage of or was unfairly detrimental to your [the Complainant's] Rights...or both." Total Web Solutions had originally tried to sell the domain name to MySpace for around £220,000, although this was found not to be evidence of abuse.
The decision might add fuel to the argument that Nominet and the DRP tend to favour corporate giants, though it also serves as a reminder that a registration that was initially legitimate may become abusive if the registrant subsequently changes its usage of the domain name.